Winthrop’s Chandler Vaudrin Named To NABC All-District 3 First Team

Posted March 25, 2021 10:12 am | Filed under Featured, Sports, Winthrop Athletics, Winthrop Basketball

Rock Hill, S.C. – Winthrop senior guard Chandler Vaudrin added another accolade to his 2020-21 collection when he was named to the NABC Division I All-District 3 First Team.

So far this season Vaudrin has collected Big South Conference Player of the Year and Big South Conference Tournament MVP honors. He’s an All-Big South Conference First Team selection and was a three-time Big South Conference Player of the Week. He has also been named to the 2020-21 Lou Henson Award mid-season watch list.

Vaudrin helped guide the Eagles to back-to-back Big South Championsips and the program’s 11th NCAA Tournament. Winthrop earned a 12th-seed and faces 5th-seeded Villanova Friday, Mar. 19 with tip-off set for 9:57 p.m.

The Uniontown, Ohio native led the team in points per game, rebounds per game, assists per game and steals per game. His 6.9 assists per game lead the Big South and rank seventh in the nation. He recorded three triple-doubles on the year, including one in the quarterfinals of the Big South Conference Tournament. He is just the second player in league history to post a triple-double in a conference tournament game. Vaudrin is the active leader for all three levels in the NCAA with eight triple-doubles.

In two season with the Eagles Vaudrin has moved into the program’s all-time Top 10 for assists with 357 and has an average of 6.26, which ranks second all-time for a Winthrop career.

Over the course of his collegiate career, Vaudrin has 1,191 points, 820 rebounds, 646 assists and 156 steals. He’s the only active player with 1,000 career points, 800 rebounds and 600 assists.

District 3
First Team
Chandler Vaudrin – Winthrop
Ahsan Asadullah – Lipscomb
Davion Warren – Hampton
Pedro Bradshaw – Bellarmine
Darius McGhee – Liberty

Second Team
Phlandrous Fleming, Jr. – Charleston Southern
John-Michael Wright – High Point
Tajion Jones – UNC Asheville
Carter Hendrickson – North Florida
Jaheam Cornwall – Gardner-Webb

Coach of the Year: Ritchie McKay, Liberty