Winthrop names scholarship award after fallen broadcaster

Posted April 12, 2019 12:35 pm | Filed under Featured, Local News, News

Winthrop University announced earlier this week that they would be naming an award after legendary and recently deceased broadcaster and Winthrop professor Haney Howell.

The Haney Howell Most Outstanding Senior in Broadcasting award will be given to the top Senior radio broadcaster at Winthrop University. The SCBA Wednesday evening also awarded a total of $10K in scholarships that was divided among four students.

Those students were Sophomore Tatiana Davis of Sumter, Junior Taylor Evans of Irmo and Seniors Brooke Frierson of Florence and Christopher Adams of Clover.

The presentations were made at the school’s 30th annual Mass Communications banquet held at McBryde Hall.