Winthrop Women’s Soccer Announces 18-Game Schedule for 2014

Posted July 2, 2014 11:36 am | Filed under Sports, Winthrop Athletics

ROCK HILL, SC – The Winthrop women’s soccer team will play an 18-game regular season schedule in 2014 which includes nine contests at Eagle Field, it was announced recently by head coach Spencer Smith.

The Eagles are coming off an 11-5-3 season where they advanced to the semi-finals of the Big South tournament before falling to Radford in penalty kicks.

“Our goal continues to be the program’s first conference title and NCAA appearance,” Smith said. “Our competitive non-conference schedule will prepare the team for the rigorous Big South slate and conference tournament.”

Winthrop will use two road scrimmages to tune up for its season. The Eagles will head to Western Carolina on August 13 and Pfeiffer on August 17.

The Eagles open the regular season on August 22 at Davidson. Winthrop picked up its first-ever victory over the Wildcats last season.

Winthrop kicks off its home schedule with three straight contests at Eagle Field, beginning with Clemson on August 24. The Eagles and Tigers have only met once before in 2012 with the Eagles falling 2-1. Winthrop will then host Brevard on August 29 and Alabama A&M on Sept. 5.

The Eagles head back out on the road on Sept. 12 to face in-state foe Wofford. Winthrop then heads to take on the UNC Charlotte 49ers on Sept. 17. This will be the first-ever meeting between Winthrop and UNC Charlotte.

The Eagles host their final non-conference contest against SC State on Sept. 21. Winthrop has one final non-conference match on the road at Francis Marion on Oct. 4.

Winthrop will host five conference opponents, opening conference play at home on Sept. 24, against the Gardner-Webb Bulldogs. The Eagles will also host High Point (Oct. 1), Coastal Carolina (Oct. 11), Charleston Southern (Oct. 15) and Radford (Oct. 26).

The Eagles’ road conference contests begin on Sept. 27 against the Longwood Lancers. Winthrop will also travel to UNC Asheville (Oct. 8), Campbell (Oct. 18), defending champion Liberty (Oct. 22) and Presbyterian (Oct. 28).

The conference tournament quarterfinals will be hosted by the higher seeds on Nov. 1. The semifinals and championship will be hosted at Bryan Park in Greensboro, NC on Nov. 7 and Nov. 9.