Winthrop’s McClanahan Named To I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team

Posted April 3, 2014 7:36 am | Filed under Sports, Winthrop Athletics, Winthrop Basketball

ROCK HILL, SC—Winthrop University basketball standout Dequesha McClanahan is among 20 players who have been named to the 12th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Basketball Teams for 2013-14.

McClanahan, who became the all-time scoring and assist leader in Big South Conference history and was just the second player in league history to be voted Big South Player of the Year for three consecutive seasons, has maintained a 3.34 grade point average while majoring in exercise science. She was also named to the Big South Conference All-Academic Team for women’s basketball this past season.

“Dequesha is an exceptional student-athlete and will no doubt become a Hall of Famer here at Winthrop as well as the Big South Conference,” said Winthrop Athletic Director Tom Hickman. “Her leadership both on the court and in the classroom certainly sets a standard for all of our student-athletes here at Winthrop. The entire university is very proud of her accomplishments and the way she has represented Winthrop over the past four years. I am delighted that she is receiving this much deserved recognition.”

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials.

“Our Association prides itself in honoring our student-athletes for both their on-court and academic achievements each year,” said Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. “We want to congratulate this year’s scholar-athlete award winners, the scholar-athletes of the year and the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments.”

Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs.

2014 Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Teams

Women’s Scholar-Athlete Team
Name University GPA Major
Alexis Dobbs American University 3.81 Public Health/Minor Biology
Jen Dumiak American University 3.94 Mathematics & Economics
Sarah Hansen Florida Gulf Coast University 3.88 Chemistry/Minor Mathematics
Amanda Hyde Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne 3.97 Mathematics/Minor Psychology
Katie Fox St. Francis College Brooklyn 4.00 English & History
Dequesha McClanahan Winthrop University 3.34 Exericise Science
Eilise O’Connor University of Missouri Kansas City 3.99 Chemistry
Haley Seilbert Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne 3.98 Communication Science & Disorders
Erin Shields Saint Joseph’s University 3.82 Finance & Accounting
Kacie Sowell Seattle University 3.53 Sports & Exercise Science

Men’s Scholar-Athlete Team
Name University GPA Major
Richard Bader Oakland University 3.51 Communications
Holton Hunsaker Utah Valley University 3.88 Accounting
Malte Kramer Pepperdine University 4.00 Economics
Walt Lemon Jr. Bradley University 3.38 Psychology
John Stuart Mann Belmont University 3.51 Economics/Minor Spanish
Ryan Nicholas Pepperdine University 3.52 Psychology
Matthew Stainbrook Xavier University 3.34 Finance
Thomas Van der Mars University of Portland 3.95 Operations & Technology Management
Ethan Wragge Creighton University 3.22 Finance, Marketing, Entrepreneurship
Corban Wroe University of Hartford 3.72 Health Science/Physical Therapy
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Ryan Nichols, Portland
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Hyde, IPFW
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Eilise O’Connor, UMKC