Men’s Tennis Captures Several 2014 Big South Honors

Posted April 16, 2014 7:33 am | Filed under Sports, Winthrop Athletics

Rock Hill, SC – The Winthrop men’s tennis team had several players earn recognition from the Big South Conference, as the Men’s Tennis Big South Awards were announced today.

The Eagles Dylan Comerford won the men’s flight award at the No. 3 position, while Juan Pablo Boada captured the flight award at the No. 5 position. Comerford finished with a 14-5 overall record in singles competition this year, and an 11-4 overall record at the No. 3 position. Comerford also had an impressive 8-0 record in Big South singles play. With his impressive conference record, Comerford was the only Eagle to be named to the All-Conference Singles team. Boada finished the season with a 12-5 overall record, while going 8-0 overall, as well as in conference at the No. 5 singles position. Peter Nagovnak rounded out the award winners for the Eagles, as he made the Big South All-Academic team.


Men’s Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 singles – Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College
No. 2 singles – Patrick O’Keefe, Radford
No. 3 singles – Dylan Comerford, Winthrop
No. 4 singles – Brendan Dempsey, Gardner-Webb
No. 5 singles – Juan Pablo Boada, Winthrop
No. 6 singles – Gonzalo Asis, Presbyterian College
Diego Manzanas, Presbyterian College

No. 1 Doubles – Leo Christofides/Philippe Tsangaridis, Coastal Carolina
No. 2 Doubles – Renan Samad/Garik Yedigarian, Coastal Caorlina
No. 3 Doubles – Diego Manzanas/Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College

All-Conference Singles
Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College
Nicholas Sayer, Radford
Fernando Guillen, Campbell
Philippe Tsangaridis, Coastal Carolina
Shea Thomas, Liberty
Ted Nilsson, Coastal Carolina
Dylan Comerford, Winthrop
Ernest Alberch, Gardner-Webb
Patrick O’Keefe, Radford

All-Conference Doubles
Alex Croker and Brett Landau, UNC Asheville
Philippe Tsangaridis and Leo Christofides, Coastal Carolina
Egon Samaai and Dillon Segur, Liberty
Shea Thomas and Jorge Azuero

All-Academic Team
Fernando Guillen, Campbell
Leo Christofides, Coastal Carolina
Brendan Dempsey, Gardner-Webb
Jorge Azuero, Liberty
Edward Becker, Longwood
Gonzalo Asis, Presbyterian College
Nicholas Sayer, Radford
Daniel Kripak, UNC Asheville
Peter Nagovnak, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College

Freshman of the Year
Diego Manzanas, Presbyterian College

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nicholas Sayer, Radford

Coach of the Year
Adam Herendeen, Presbyterian College