Lewisville High To Induct Inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame Class

Posted April 23, 2014 8:49 am | Filed under Featured, High School Football, Sports

After spending the last two years planning, Lewisville High School is set to honor ten inductees into the 2014 inaugural Hall of Fame Class. This year’s ceremony will take place on May 9th at the Gateway Center in Richburg at 6:00pm. Tickets are $10 in advance or $12 at the door. You can purchase tickets by calling Coach Will Mitchell at 704-641-8709, or go to the front office at the school.
Below is the Press Release from the school, which includes the inductees.

The Lewisville High School Administration has spent the last two years laying down the groundwork for establishing an Athletic Hall of Fame for the school. The Hall of Fame is intended to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Lion student-athletes over the last 70 years. After establishing a set of by-laws and guidelines for both establishing the Hall and selecting inductees, a committee was selected by Principal Jim Knox to review nominees and select candidates for the inaugural class. The nine member committee consisted of Principal Knox, Athletic Director Rusty Pemberton, current LHS Baseball Coach Billy Keels, current LHS Football Coach William Mitchell, former LHS Coach Bennie McMurray, current LHS faculty member/ alumna Jovanda Dickerson and Lewisville alumna Susan Helms, Richburg Mayor James Harris, and Nikki Nash.
A decision was made to honor ten inductees in the inaugural Class of 2014. All following classes will consist of no more than five members. The selection committee used the following criteria when evaluating the nominees:
• Coaches are eligible five years after they have left Lewisville High School. Significant contributions to athletics at Lewisville High School, as evidenced by the success of their teams and the acknowledgment of their former student-athletes, played the biggest part in this evaluation.

• Athletes must have graduated at least ten years before nomination and they must have excelled in a sport sanctioned by the High School League. Factors such as individual recognition received, individual and team records held, and career accomplishments following their time at LHS are all taken into account.

• Teams are eligible to be nominated fifteen years after the graduation of their senior class. To be considered, a team must have finished a season as either a South Carolina State Champion or State Runner-up.

Selections were made from a list of over twenty-five nominees. In order to be selected, a nominee must receive at least six out of nine possible votes. Nominees not selected will automatically remain on the nominees list for the next five years.
Lewisville High School is proud to announce that ten nominees have been selected to be inducted into the Lewisville High School Athletic Hall of Fame inaugural Class of 2014. Three coaches, five athletes, and two teams make up a class that has won state and national championships, spent time in the NFL and Major League Baseball, and started dynasties in two sports. These ten inductees span different generations and several sports and are indicative of the excellence that has long been a part of Lewisville High School.

Lonzo Giles coached the 1959 Girls Basketball Team to a state championship and led the 1953 Baseball Team and the 1958 Boys Basketball Team to a State Runner-Up finishes. He also served as the Track coach. The first Football coach in Lewisville High School history, Giles started the team in 1953, winning a conference championship in 1961. Lewisville football just celebrated its 60th year as a program this past fall.
Debbie Rogers served as the longtime Cheerleading coach for Lewisville during the 1980s and into the early 2000s. Between 1987 and 2001, she led the Lions to ten Class AA-A State Cheerleading Championships and sent several of her athletes to the collegiate level.
Bennie McMurray served as the Head Baseball and Football coach for Lewisville from the mid-1980s through the 1990s. A member of the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame, he led the Lions to a combined eight state championships, five in baseball and three in football.
Grady Bolton was the first Lewisville football player to be selected to the Shrine Bowl in 1961, where he was a captain and the MVP of the game. He led the Lions to their first conference championship before attending Mississippi State University, where he was an All-SEC defensive lineman. Drafted by the Green Bay Packers and the Miami Dolphins in 1966, he became the first of five Lions to reach the NFL.
Wesley McFadden became the state of South Carolina’s all-time leading rusher by the time he graduated from Lewisville High School. A four year letterman at Clemson, McFadden’s teams went 30-6 during his three years as a starter. In 1987, McFadden finished third in the ACC in rushing yards and led the league in yards per carry.
Lisa Waldrop Rivers led the Lady Lions Basketball Team to an undefeated regular season in 1983. As Class A State Player of the Year, she scored over 1400 points in her career. Rivers later led Francis Marion to the 1986 NAIA National Championship. At Francis Marion, she scored more than 1400 career points and played in more games than any other player in school history.
Brian Williams led the Lewisville Lions to three straight Class A Baseball State Championships in 1985, 1986, and 1987. He went on to be an All-American at South Carolina and a first round draft pick of the Houston Astros in 1990. A nine year MLB veteran, Williams finished in the Top 10 for Rookie of the Year in 1992.
Sheldon Brown led the Lewisville Lions to the 1996 Class A State Championship in football. During that season, he was named Class A Player of the Year and Associated Press Player of the Year. An all-state selection in three sports, Brown went on to play football and baseball for the University of South Carolina. A two-time All-SEC selection, Brown was drafted in the second round by the Philadelphia Eagles in 2002. He went on to spend ten seasons in the NFL, the longest professional tenure of any Lewisville athlete.
The 1959 Lewisville Lions Girls Basketball Team became the first athletic squad in school history to win a State Championship. They were coached by inductee Lonzo Giles.
The 1986 Lewisville Lions Football Team won the school’s first State title on the gridiron. With two members of the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame on staff, Jimmy Wallace and Bennie McMurray, the Lions finished 14-0. They outscored opponents 430-42 and were recognized as the Sweet Sixteen Champion by the Charlotte Observer.

The Lewisville High School Athletic Hall of Fame will induct the Class of 2014 on May 9, 2014. These eight individual inductees and members of the two teams will be recognized at the Lewisville High School Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet at the Gateway Center in Richburg at 6:00pm. A silent auction will also be held in conjunction with this event.
Tickets are $10 in advance and $12 the day of the event. Tickets can be purchased by calling Coach William Mitchell at (704) 641-8709 or can be purchased at the front office of the high school or from members of the Hall of Fame Committee.

Anyone willing to make a donation to the silent auction should also call Coach Mitchell. All proceeds will benefit the Lewisville High School Athletic Department.