10 named as teachers of the year in Clover Schools

Posted April 22, 2014 7:07 pm | Filed under Featured, Local News

2014-clover-teachers-of-the-yearTen teachers in the Clover School District were recognized Tuesday by their colleges as teachers of the year.

The teachers, publicly named this week, become part of the Clover School District Teacher Forum, a program designed to help develop teacher leaders.

Each school teacher of the year now enters into an evaluation process in which a team of judges, including community representatives, will select the 2014 District Teacher of the Year.

Announced as part of the district convocation in August, the District Teacher of the Year will have the opportunity to participate in professional development programs as part of the South Carolina Teacher Forum led by the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement.

Each district teacher of the year will compete to be selected as the 2015 South Carolina Teacher of the Year, a prestigious honor in which the honoree represents more than 50,000 educators in the Palmetto State.

Each school in the Clover School District has selected its 2013-2014 Teacher of the Year. The 10 educators, who have a combined 89 years of teaching experience in Clover, will be recognized at a banquet on May 7 at The Palisades Country Club.

Among those recognized:

    • Stacie Harris, 1st grade, Bethany Elementary
    • Patricia Smith, 5th grade, Bethel Elementary
    • Keri Haynes, 9-12th grade English, Blue Eagle Academy
    • Ann Love, French Clover High
    • Alex Bromell, Chorus, Clover Middle
    • Phoebe O’Toole, Resource, Crowders Creek Elementary
    • Brenda Lee, Reading Recovery, Griggs Road Elementary
    • Tracey Thompson, Technology, Kinard Elementary
    • Debbie Faulkner, Arts in Education, Larne Elementary
    • Karne Schmolze, 8th grade Math, Oakridge Middle