York County election results: Nov. 5, 2013

Posted November 5, 2013 10:33 pm | Filed under Featured, Local News

York County voters in Tega Cay, Fort Mill and York were the only residents casting ballots in Tuesday’s off-year elections in at least one hotly contested-race.

Tega Cay Mayor George Sheppard was elected Tuesday to a second term in office. He will be serving alongside one new city councilwoman, Jennifer Stalford. Councilwoman Dottie Hersey was re-elected Tuesday night.

In Fort Mill, voters in the Ward 3 town council race overwhelmingly re-elected Larry Huntley as their city councilman. Huntley beat challenger Julia Beilsmith by a nearly 5-to-1 margin.

And in York, Mayor Pro-Tem Charles Johnson was re-elected to another term while John Shiflet was elected to represent the city’s sixth district.

Tega Cay Mayor
George Sheappard 730 (winner)
Larry Pritchard 448
Ron Kirby 319

Tega Cay City Council [two seats to fill]
Jennifer C. Stalford 905 (winner)
Dottie Hersey 712 (winner)
Lisa Marie Johnson 377
David L. O’Neal 342
Walt Krasinski 220
Phillip Zima 134

Fort Mill Town Council, Ward 3
Larry Huntley 250 (winner)
Julia Beilsmith 53

York City Council, District 6
John Shifley 65 (winner)
Johnny McCoy 34

York City Council, District 1
Charles A. Johnson 50 (winner)
John A. Eakin 19