Five Former Winthrop Cross Country Standouts Voted To Big South All-Decade Teams

Posted November 4, 2013 1:11 pm | Filed under Sports, Winthrop Athletics

ROCK HILL, SC– Five former standout Winthrop cross country runners have been named to the first-ever All-Decade Teams as part of the Big South Conference’s 30th Anniversary celebration in 2013-14 that recognizes the student-athletes and coaches who excelled in their respective sport since the Conference’s founding in 1983.

A committee of Big South Conference administrators serves as the official voting panel to determine the All-Decade Teams, with fan voting comprising 20 percent of the overall total.

The five Winthrop runners, including three men and two women, who have been chosen include Richard Golden and Denise Holiday from the 1980s, Beth Greene and Jeff Greene from the 1990s, and Adam Growley from the 2000s.

Both Golden and Holiday were two-time All-Big South selections. Golden earned All-Big South honors in 1984 and 1985 while Holiday was honored in 1986 and 1987. Beth Greene was a three-time All-BSC performer for current Winthrop head coach Ben Paxton in 1995, 1997 and 1998.

Jeff Greene was the 1994 Big South men’s champion and also had the distinction of being chosen the first NCAA Div. I All-American in Winthrop history. He has also been inducted into the Big South and Winthrop Halls of Fame. Adam Growley was the top men’s performer during the 2000s as he was the 2001 Big South men’s champion and led Winthrop to back-to-back Big South championships in 2000 and 2001, marking Winthrop’s first-ever Big South cross country championships. He earned All-BSC cross country honors three times, and is also a member of the Winthrop Hall of Fame.

The All-Decade Team candidates were determined based on being at least one of the following: 1) Was a multiple All-Conference honoree; 2) Was named an All-American; 3) Is a member of the Big South Conference Hall of Fame; 4) Student-athletes must be a college graduate or left their respective institution in good academic standing; 5) Won a Conference Championship as a coach and/or was voted Conference Coach of the Year; and 6) Players of the Year, Tournament MVPs and First-Team All-Conference honorees will be among the candidate pool for the 1983-89 All-Decade Teams. Candidates that participated in two different decades were placed in a specific decade based on consultation from member institutions. Member institutions also had final determination in regards to inclusion of student-athletes and coaches.