SCHSL 2014-2016 Realignment announced

Posted August 5, 2013 10:28 pm | Filed under Featured, OTS Sports Network Vault, Sports

The governing body over high school sports in South Carolina has released a major realignment plan starting next year. The decision, announced Monday by the S.C. High School League, affects a number of the area’s teams.

South Pointe and Lancaster have dropped down to 3A. While their enrollment remained at a 3A level, the Stallions have played as a 4A school the last two years. For the Bruins, Lancaster High School’s student population was cited for the change. The two teams will play as part of Region 4-AAA, which also includes Chester, Union County, Broome and Clinton.

Clover, Fort Mill, Nation Ford, Northwestern, Rock Hill and York will remain 4A schools and will still be members of Region 3-AAAA. The schools will welcome Gaffney back into region three after a two-year hiatus. Region 4-AA will have Andrew Jackson, Buford, Cheraw, Chesterfield and Indian Land.

In the 1A ranks, Great Falls and Lewisville will be part of region 3-A. These changes go into effect for the 2014-2015 school year.

Here is the new realignment for the entire state.

Class 4A

Region 1: Easley; Greenville; Greenwood; Hillcrest; Laurens; TL Hanna; Westside; Woodmont

Region 2: Boiling Springs; Byrnes; Dorman; JL Mann; Mauldin; Riverside; Spartanburg; Wade Hampton

Region 3: Clover; Fort Mill; Gaffney; Nation Ford; Northwestern; Rock Hill; York

Region 4: Blythewood; Dutch Fork; Lugoff-Elgin; Ridge View; Spring Valley; Westwood

Region 5: Irmo; Lexington; North Augusta; River Bluff; South Aiken; White Knoll

Region 6: Carolina Forest; Conway; Socastee; South Florence; Sumter; West Florence

Region 7: Cane Bay; Goose Creek; James Island; Stratford; Wando; West Ashley

Region 8: Ashley Ridge; Bluffton; Colleton County; Fort Dorchester; Summerville

Class 3A

Region 1: Belton-Honea Path; Daniel; Palmetto; Pickens; Seneca; Walhalla; West-Oak; Wren

Region 2: Berea; Blue Ridge; Chapman; Eastside; Emerald; Greer; Southside; Travelers Rest

Region 3: Broome; Chester; Clinton; Lancaster; South Pointe; Union County

Region 4: AC Flora; Camden; Chapin; Dreher; Lower Richland; Richland Northeast

Region 5: Aiken; Airport; Brookland-Cayce; Gilbert; Midland Valley; Swansea

Region 6: Crestwood; Darlington; Hartsville; Lakewood; Manning; Marlboro County

Region 7: Georgetown; Lake City; Myrtle Beach; North Myrtle Beach; St. James; Wilson

Region 8: Beaufort; Berkeley; Hanahan; Hilton Head Island; Orangeburg-Wilkinson; Stall

Class 2A

Region 1: Blacksburg; Carolina; Chesnee; Landrum; Liberty; Pendleton; Powdersville; Woodruff

Region 2: Abbeville; Batesburg-Leesville; Crescent; Ninety Six; Saluda; Strom Thurmond

Region 3: Columbia; Eau Claire; Fairfield Central; Keenan; Mid-Carolina; Newberry; Pelion

Region 4: Andrew Jackson; Buford; Central; Cheraw; Chesterfield; Indian Land; North Central

Region 5: Barnwell; Edisto; Ridgeland; Silver Bluff; Wade Hampton; Woodland

Region 6: Academic Magnet; Battery Creek; Bishop England; Garrett; North Charleston; Whale Branch

Region 7: Andrews; Johnsonville; Kingstree; Lake Marion; Lee Central; Timberland

Region 8: Aynor; Dillon; Loris; Marion; Mullins; Waccamaw

Class A

Region 1: Calhoun Falls; Dixie; Fox Creek; McCormick; Ridge Spring-Monetta (FB only); Ware Shoals (except FB); Whitmire (except FB)

Region 2: Brashier Middle College; Christ Church; Greenville Charter; Greer Middle College; S.C.S.D.B.; Southside Christian; St. Joseph’s; Tamassee-Salem; Ware Shoals (football only); Whitmire (football only)

Region 3: C A Johnson; Governors School Math & Science; Great Falls; Lamar; Lewisville; McBee

Region 4: Blackville-Hilda; Calhoun County; Hunter-Kinard-Tyler; Ridge Spring-Monetta (football only); North; Wagener-Salley; Williston-Elko

Region 5: Allendale-Fairfax; Bamberg-Ehrhardt ; Bethune-Bowman ; Branchville; Denmark-Olar; Estill

Region 6: Baptist Hill; Burke; Charleston Charter; Cross; Lincoln; Military Magnet; St. John’s

Region 7: C E Murray; East Clarendon; Hannah-Pamplico; Scott’s Branch; Timmonsville

Region 8: Carvers Bay; Creek Bridge; Green Sea-Floyds; Hemingway; Lake View; Latta