Winthrop’s DiGiorgio to be inducted into Big South Hall of Fame

Posted April 10, 2013 9:48 pm | Filed under Featured, Sports

Retiring Winthrop President Dr. Anthony J. DiGiorgio has been selected for induction into the Big South Conference Hall of Fame, it was announced today by the League.

Former Liberty volleyball player Anthonia Akpama and former Radford men’s soccer player Ian Spooner will join DiGiorgio in the 2013 class that will be officially inducted on Thursday, May 30 during a special ceremony as part of the Conference’s annual spring meetings at The Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Va.

The Big South Hall of Fame was created in 2003 as part of the League’s 20th Anniversary celebration, and now totals 52 former Big South Conference student-athletes, coaches, administrators and contributors.

DiGiorgio concludes his 24 years as Winthrop’s President upon his retirement next month, and is the longest-serving President of any public university in the state of South Carolina. Appointed Winthrop’s ninth President in January 1989, DiGiorgio has led the institution’s conversion from Winthrop College to Winthrop University, a comprehensive teaching institution now offering 89 undergraduate and 41 graduate degree programs and options.

During his 24 years in office, Winthrop has grown from a regional college to a national-caliber comprehensive university that is regularly rated among the top public institutions of its kind in the South by U.S. News & World Report. DiGiorgio initiated Winthrop’s first capital campaign, which raised $31.2 million for scholarships, academic program enhancements and more faculty development and research opportunities. He also initiated the University’s successful drive to achieve 100 percent accreditation in all Winthrop programs for which national accreditation is offered.

DiGiorgio’s service to the Big South Conference is just as impressive, as he is the only individual to be elected Big South President two separate terms, and served a total of nine years from 1992-98 and 2006-09 — the most in League history.