10 named as Clover School District Teachers of the Year

Posted April 10, 2013 6:20 pm | Filed under Featured, Local News

Ten teachers with a combined 159 years of experience were named Wednesday as the Clover School District’s Teachers of the Year.

Each school teacher of the year now enters into an evaluation process in which a team of judges, including community representatives, will select the 2013 District Teacher of the Year.

Announced as part of the district convocation in August, the District Teacher of the Year will have the opportunity to participate in professional development programs as part of the South Carolina Teacher Forum led by the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement.

Clover’s Teachers of the Year include, alphabetically:

  • Amy Brewer of Larne Elementary School, Special Education Teacher
  • Connie Carnes, Clover Middle School, SOAR Teacher
  • Logan Cato, Crowders Creek Elementary School, 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Mandy Combs, Blue Eagle Academy, 5th Grade Teacher
  • Kathy Corbiere, Oakridge Middle School, Media Specialist
  • Sandra Laird, Bethany Elementary School, 1st Grade Teacher
  • Cathy Lowman, Kinard Elementary School, Art Teacher
  • Samantha McCarter, Griggs Road Elementary School, 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Monica Roveri, Bethel Elementary School, Media Specialist
  • Christy Wilson, Clover High School, Family and Consumer Science Teacher

Each district teacher of the year will compete to be selected as the 2014 South Carolina Teacher of the Year, a prestigious honor in which the honoree represents more than 50,000 educators in the Palmetto State.