Two Clover Robotics teams earn top state honors

Posted March 11, 2013 5:39 pm | Filed under Local News

Two teams from the Clover area captured the top spots in the area of research at the South Carolina FIRST LEGO League State Championship at White Knoll High School in February.

Bethany and Bethel Elementary Schools were competing against 78 other teams for top honors.

FIRST Lego League is a program designed to encourage students to be engineers and researchers on modern issues that face society. This year’s theme, Senior Solutions, required students to look at issues facing senior citizens. Students were to design, build, and program a robot to complete missions on a competition table that would address issues faced by seniors.

Team 5581, Bethel Botics, placed first in the research category. Their research project focused on a product they created called the Blipper, a device to help senior citizens with balance. Students on the team indicated that as people age they sometimes lose their balance because of changes in the brain and ears. The Blipper is designed to fit over the shoe to help seniors keep a better footing. Most current products on the market either require seniors to buy new shoes or additional items to help with balance. The team contends the Blipper is more cost effective as it works with existing shoes that senior citizens already own. Student members of the team are Sam Bangert, Adam Bouchama, Lauren Gilkeson, Nathan Nishimuta, C.J. Stefanco, Kaitlyn Suddee, Kaylee Williams, and Regan Zierverink. The program is under the leadership of Todd Goff, Monica Roveri, and Patricia Smith.

Team 7130, Bethany Bot Builders (B3), placed second in the research category. Their research project focused on a QR code system for prescription medications. The QR codes would be linked to a document that would be easy for senior citizens to read and would include information about their prescription, including directions for use and other pertinent information they may need. The document is color coded and organized in a manner that would be easier to understand. Student members of the team are Jake Arnett, Matt Courtwright, Austin Clark, Logan Hughes, Calista Laird, Lauren Talley, Shelbi Russell, Bailee Hicks, Matthew Thoroughman, and Will Grier.  The program is under the leadership of Laura Falls and Melissa Jackson.