Marshall, DiGiorgio, five star athletes make Winthrop’s 2013 Hall of Fame class

Posted March 4, 2013 4:00 pm | Filed under Featured, Local News

Winthrop University has announced the newest inductees of the 2013 school’s Athletics Hall of Fame.

Five athletes along with retiring school president Anthony DiGiorgio and former men’s basketball coach Gregg Marshall will be inducted into the Winthrop Athletics Hall of Fame during ceremonies on Saturday, April 27 in the Richardson Ballroom of the DiGiorgio Campus Center.

Dr. DiGiorgio has served for 24 years as Winthrop’s president during which time the intercollegiate athletics program has grown from 12 to 18 teams, and new facilities have been constructed for baseball, softball, track and field, tennis and soccer while the Winthrop Coliseum has undergone extensive renovation.  During his years at Winthrop, DiGiorgio has been a strong supporter of  intercollegiate athletics and has served two terms on the NCAA board of directors as well as two terms as president of the Big South Conference.

Marshall served as the men’s basketball coach for nine years and directed the program to seven Big South Conference tournament championships and seven trips to the NCAA tournament.  His last Winthrop team achieved the first NCAA first-round NCAA tournament victory for the school and Big South Conference when the Eagles defeated Notre Dame.  He was voted Big South Coach of the Year four times and was inducted into the Big South Hall of Fame in 2012.  When he left Winthrop following the 2006-07 season, he was the winningest coach in Big South history with 194 victories.

In addition to Marshall and Dr. DiGiorgio, the 2013 Hall of Fame Class will include:

  • Men’s soccer player Vali Arnason ’04. Arnason is a three-time All-Big South Conference first-team selection and the 2001 Player of the Year.
  • Softball player Darrlyn Alexander ’84. Alexander is a 1984 NAIA All-American softball selection and compiled a 61-17 career pitching record.
  • Baseball player Jason Colson ’01. Colson is a two-time Big South Conference baseball first -team selection and the 2001 Player of the Year who holds the Big South career home run record and was inducted into the Big South Hall of Fame in 2012.
  • Women’s basketball player Stephanie Morris ’86. Morris is the school’s fifth all-time leading scorer and a member of the NAIA District 6 all-time second team who still holds the single game Winthrop women’s scoring record with 37 points.
  • Volleyball player Lisa Mullins ’91. Mullins is a three-time All-Big South Conference first-team selection and the 1987 Player of the Year who still holds the school record for highest single season hitting percentage and career blocks.